We Remember…

Today marks the 11th anniversary of the devastating attack that took place on September 11, 2001.  Everyone remembers that day; what they were doing, what they were wearing, and who they were with.  I am no different.  I was sitting in the my 7th grade geometry class, when suddenly my teacher began to cry.  Minutes later, an announcement was made that the Pentagon had been hit.  To me, this meant very little.  I had no idea what the Pentagon was and why everyone was so upset.  Then I saw the footage of each location that was hit.  I then realized, our country was under attack. 

I stayed the rest of the school day completely and utterly confused.  It still didn’t fully register that we were all potentially in danger.  I had never been to New York City, and did not know anybody there, but my heart hurt for strangers in danger.  Once I was home, my parents sat me down and tried to explain how big of an issue this attack was.  This day would be spoken about for years to come.  The textbook I was reading in history about the civil war would eventually have this attack listed as well.  As a 7th grader, I was extremely scared, and was wondering how will New York City ever come out of this.

I know the American Red Cross took a big part in helping with this horrible disaster.  25,000 volunteers joined together from all different regions to help with shelter, food, and most of all, brought hope to those in complete devastation.

Red Cross 9/11 disaster relief operations included:

  • More than 14 million meals and snacks served
  • 60 shelters opened for 3,554 families
  • 101 sites opened to deliver services
  • 292 emergency vehicles deployed
  • 57,434 Red Cross employees and volunteers assigned from all 50 states
  • 240,417 mental health contacts and 133,035 health contacts made either in person or by phone by Red Cross employees and volunteers

Today, we all remember those who have perished, those who have suffered  loss, and those who took heroic measures.  Today we reflect on what has happened, and what the United States has become; more united, and more caring. Not only in a time of disaster, but always.

By: Jocelyn Provo

Leave a Reply

